Citizen of the Year Award

2019 David Boutin Citizen of the Year

Odessa Banner COY
2021 Citizen of the Year 
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Odessa Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
305 E. 5th Street

The Citizen of the Year for 2021 will be selected based upon the quality and effectiveness of volunteer work performed for the good of the community in 2021. Volunteer efforts to be considered as examples of community service include the Odessa Chamber of Commerce, church, civic clubs, local government, education, and charitable/service organizations.



2019 Honoree David Boutin

David Boutin

The Odessa Chamber of Commerce is proud to honor David Boutin as the 2019 Citizen of the Year Honoree. With decades of service to the Odessa community through business and volunteerism, David was chosen from a panel of Odessa Chamber leaders to receive this distinguished award. David Boutin was born in El Paso and moved to Odessa in 1952. He graduated from Permian High School and attended Odessa College for a year before completing his Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Texas Tech University. Upon graduating from Texas Tech University, David worked for Everybody’s Market in Odessa as the General Manager and Co-Owner. In 1993, David became the Director of Environmental and Construction for Southwest Convenience Stores before becoming the Director of Operations. In 2005, David became the Senior Vice President of Commercial Lending at Western National Bank. There he worked for nine years before becoming the Market President at Frost Bank where he retired from in 2018. At Frost Bank he conceived and implemented financial market development plans, supported interaction with and provided guidance to outside banking centers, as well as formulate long term institutional goals and strategies. David has received distinguished awards throughout his lifetime. In 1988, he received the Odessa Chamber of Commerce Small Business Person of the Year award and in 1989, he was the U.S. (Lubbock District) SBA Small Business Person of the Year. David has also been involved in a number of professional membership organizations. He served as the Past Odessa Country Club Board President, Past Chairman of the Odessa Chamber of Commerce, Past Chairman of Midland-Odessa Transportation Committee, Past Chairman of the Odessa Citizens Golf Advisory Committee, Past Chairman of the Odessa Development Corporation Workforce Initiative Task Force, Past Chairman of the Odessa Development Corporation Compliance Committee, and Past Chairman of the Medical Center Health System Foundation Board. He has also served on a variety of other committees, boards, and councils. “David embodies the community-minded entrepreneurial spirit of Odessa. In the short half of a decade or so since I’ve known him, he has been an occasional mentor and a steady friend whenever I’ve called on him. From his humble roots sacking groceries to his keen mind for helping create new business opportunities, David’s energy, code of ethics and heart for others are an inspiration to anyone who wishes to become a leader, not only in Odessa but throughout West Texas” says Aaron Bedell, the Chief Operating Officer of Permian Basin Area Foundation and member of the Chamber Board of Directors. David currently serves as the Vice President of the Odessa Development Corporation, Immediate Past President of Grow Odessa, Chairman Elect of Odessa College Foundation Board, Treasurer of the Catholic Charities Board and many more committees and boards. David has been married for 45 years to his wife Cathi. Together they have two children, Lindsey and Jeff and a daughter-in-law, Candace. They also have two grandchildren, Jonah and Jude. In his downtime, David enjoys golf, hunting, cooking and wine. “We are so proud to honor David for his many years of service to the Odessa community. There are few community projects that David isn’t involved in and you can always count on him to be ‘all in’ if he is part of something. He loves Odessa and he proves his commitment to the betterment of our community through his hands-on involvement each and every day,” says Renee’ Earls, President/CEO of the Odessa Chamber of Commerce.

Previous Honorees

  • 2018 - Kirk Edwards
  • 2017 - Gregory D. Williams, Ed. D.
  • 2016 - Sondra Eoff
  • 2015 - Minka Sibert
  • 2014 - Dr. W. David Watts
  • 2013 - Tryon D. Lewis
  • 2012 - Renee Henderson Earls
  • 2011 - Frosty Gilliam, Jr.
  • 2010 - Jack Wood & Don Wood
  • 2009 - C. R. “Dick” Saulsbury
  • 2008 - Fred M. “Mickey” Jones
  • 2007 - W.R. “Bro” Hill
  • 2006 - Daniel J. Hollmann
  • 2005 - Virgil Trower
  • 2004 - Dr. James B. Goates
  • 2003 - Murray A. “Drew” Crutcher & John Landgraf
  • 2002 - Peggy Dean
  • 2001 - C. Richard “Dick” Sivalls
  • 2000 - Bill & Jane Hext
  • 1999 - Mike Atkins
  • 1998 - Jay Alvey
  • 1997 - Bob Barnes
  • 1996 - Buzz Hurt & Betsy Triplett-Hurt
  • 1995 - Ted G. Roden
  • 1994 - Lorraine Perryman
  • 1993 - Larry Melton
  • 1992 - Natalie Rothstein
  • 1991 - Raymond C. Stoker, Jr.
  • 1990 - Ronald L. Fancher
  • 1989 - Jan Fisher
  • 1988 - Richard “Dick” Gillham
  • 1987 - Glen Atkins
  • 1986 - J.L. “Barney” Barnett
  • 1985 - William “Bill” Holm
  • 1984 - Grace King
  • 1983 - E.M. “Ernie” Schur
  • 1982 - Charles R. Perry
  • 1981 - Dr. H.E. Hestand
  • 1980 - W.L. “Bill” Pettit
  • 1979 - Don R. Williams
  • 1978 - A.R. “Happy” Dyer
  • 1977 - Bill G. Elms
  • 1976 - Tom “Pinkie” Roden
  • 1975 - R.F. “Rudy” Juedeman
  • 1974 - Jim Reese
  • 1973 - Gayle B. Dishong
  • 1972 - A.K. Barlow
  • 1971 - H.S. “Duke” Samson
  • 1970 - Dan Hemphill
  • 1969 - Dr. Jack Rodgers
  • 1968 - Jack Logan
  • 1967 - W.O. Shafer
  • 1966 - O.F. Blank
  • 1965 - Charles B. Perry
  • 1964 - Dr. W.C. Strickland
  • 1963 - E.G. Rodman
  • 1962 - W.D. Noel
  • 1961 - John Ben Shepperd
  • 1960 - J.L. “Dusty” Rhoades
  • 1959 - H.H. “Pat” Simmons
  • 1958 - T.B. “Buck” Harris